Government Engineer of the Year Nominations Open

Nominations for the Norfolk Branch ASCE Government Civil Engineer of the Year are now being accepted.  A nomination form is linked below.  If you have any questions or would like a nomination form in Microsoft Word format, please contact Mike Bumbaco at 757.619.8580 or  Below are requirements for Nominees:

  • Professional registration and working for a local, state, federal, or other government jurisdiction in Hampton Roads Area

  • A sustained record of outstanding civil engineering performance in the public sector

  • Evidence of high character and professional integrity

  • A record of civic and humanitarian activities (community service)

  • 15 years in the public service sector as a civil engineer with some experience in an administrative role

Nomination Form

The nomination form MUST be completed and submitted to Mike Bumbaco by 5 p.m. on January 11, 2019 to be eligible for the award.  The recipient will be presented an award during the February 2019 Engineering Excellence Banquet. Previous recipients of the Award include:

2017 Ted Henifin, General Manager, Hampton Roads Sanitation District

2016 George G. Bonner, P.E., Commanding Officer, U.S. Coast Guard Shore Infrastructure Center

2015 Paul B. Olsen, Colonel, US Army, Retired

2014 Jerry Haste, Head, Project Management and Engineering, PWD Norfolk Naval Facilities Engineering Command, Mid-Atlantic and Engineering Field Activity Southeast

2013 Bruce A. Seamans, P.E., NAVFAC Atlantic

2012 Capt. James Heinz, P.E., Commander, U.S.C.G. Shore Infrastructure Logistics Center

2011 Bruce Husselbee, Director of Engineering, Hampton Roads Sanitation District

2010 Philip L. Hubbard, P.E., Special Assistant for Compliance Assurance, HRSD

2009 James T. Gale, P.E., Assistant Contingency Engineer, NAVFAC 

2008 Richard Hartman, P.E., City Engineer, City of Portsmouth

2007 Mostafa A. Sabbah, Ph.D., P.E., Director of Engineering, City of Newport News

2006 Richart Kahler, P.E., Director, NAVFAC MIDLANT

2005 Dwight L. Farmer, Executive Director, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission